2019 ADDC: mutual assistance in action

During the third stage of the five-day Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge (2019 ADDC) the participants overcame 298 kilometers of high-speed tracks along the sands.
The third leg and the third crew that has set the fastest time of passing the distance – the Polish driver Jakub Przygonski has shown the best result at the finish today; he has spent 3 hours and 48 minutes driving through the sand and dunes in his MINI John Cooper Works Buggy.
Unlike the previous two days, the weather has been comfortable today; the temperature in the shade did not exceed +28°C that cannot be said about the sands – the air temperature is perceived completely differently there. Today Vladimir Vasilyev has confidently led his BMW X3 CC to the finish, but fell into one of the sand traps – a funnel that is not so easy and fast to escape. Since the dunes are rather challenging, there are times when one crew cannot get out of such a sand trap without assistance. Precious time was rapidly passing, but Aron Domzala came to the aid of the crew in the Toyota Hilux Overdrive; he was able to pull out the Russians car. After these maneuvers problems with the engine overheating arose again and Vasilyev / Zhiltsov crew reached the finish line, reducing the pace and allowing the engine to cool. In the day results statement the Russians are on the eighth line, but it did not affect the general intermediate classification greatly – the crew in the BMW X3 SS lost only one position, dropping to the seventh place.
Vladimir Vasilyev, driver, “Today we have got into the funnel the same way as we did in 2017 – I broke my back then, having “flown” into such a trap at speed. When you go first, you most often see traces of motorcyclists, they circle such places on the left or on the right. And in the car, when you cross the dune, the main thing is to choose the right course. Literally a meter to the left or to the right and there is no funnel, you can pass it. We crossed the dune and there was not even a second to drive aside, we got into it immediately. It’s good that Aron Domzala came to our rescue, although by that time we had already lost about half an hour to get out. We were almost there, but he helped us reduce this time. Thank him for that”. 
Many racers have tested out their character today; and Martin Prokop had to test the limits of his body – the driver still feels unwell and suffers illness “on his feet”, or rather driving.
Bernhard ten Brinke started the special stage not meeting anyone along the way, but soon he caught up with Yazeed Al-Rajhi, who has had technical problems today. And then ten Brinke also experienced troubles – he punctured a tyre at one of the speed sections, but after replacing the wheel the crew “caught” the puncture again after just ten kilometers. Aron Domzala, who helped Vladimir Vasilyev, reported at the finish line that it was not his day, as he was also stuck in the sand twice; and the second time, hitting a funnel, the driver managed to damage the left front part of the car, but reached the finish line.
In the previous days Cyril Despres experienced different technical problems, such as drive failure, oil loss, and a broken steering rack damper. Today the Frenchman has been finally able to finish without any mechanical damage.
Tomorrow the crews will face the most difficult and long-lasting leg of a multi-day desert competition – a 520 km-long route, 286 of which will fall on the special stage.

vrtsport

ADDC-2019: Тактика взаимовыручки в действии

298 километров скоростных треков по пескам Абу-Даби – именно столько преодолели участники за третий этап пятидневного соревнования Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge (ADDC-2019).
Третий спецучасток и третий экипаж, установивший быстрейшее время преодоления дистанции – сегодня лучший результат на финише дня показал польский пилот Якуб Пшигоньски, который затратил 3 часа и 48 минут на езду по пескам и дюнам на своем MINI John Cooper Works Buggy.

В отличии от предыдущих двух дней, сегодня в арабских владениях комфортная погода, температура в тени не превышала +28 С градусов, чего не скажешь о подобном в песках – там температура воздуха воспринимается совершенно иначе. Владимир Васильев сегодня уверенно вел к финишу BMW X3 CC, но попал в одну из песчаных ловушек – воронку, из которой не так просто и быстро выбраться своими силами. Поскольку дюны довольно тяжелые, бывают моменты, когда один экипаж без посторонней помощи не может выбраться из такой песчаной ловушки. Драгоценное время стремительно уходило, но на помощь экипажу пришел Арон Домжала на Toyota Hilux Overdrive, который смог вытащить автомобиль россиян. После таких маневров вновь появились проблемы с перегревом мотора и до финиша экипаж Васильев/Жильцов добирался, снизив темп, позволяя мотору охлаждаться. В протоколе результатов дня россияне значатся на восьмой строке, но это не сильно сказалось на общей промежуточной классификации – экипаж на BMW X3 СС «просел» лишь на одну позицию, опустившись на седьмое место.

Владимир Васильев, пилот«Сегодня мы угодили в «воронку» таким же образом, как когда-то в 2017 году — тогда я сломал спину, влетев на скорости в такую ловушку. Когда ты едешь первым, то ты чаще всего видишь следы мотоциклистов, они такие места объезжают слева или справа. А в автомобиле, когда ты переваливаешь дюну, главное — выбрать верный курс. Буквально метр влево или вправо и «воронки» нет, ты можешь ее миновать.  Мы перевалили через дюну и не было даже секунды, чтобы отрулить в сторону, сразу попадаешь как в стену. Хорошо, что Арон Домжала пришел к нам на помощь, хотя к тому моменту мы и потеряли уже порядка получаса на то, чтобы выбраться. Мы были почти у цели, но он помог нам сократить это время. Спасибо ему за это».

Многие пилоты сегодня испытывали свой характер на прочность, а Мартину Прокопу пришлось испытывать пределы прочности своего организма – пилот до сих пор чувствует недомогание и переносит болезнь «на ногах», а точнее за рулем.
Бернард тен Бринке начал спецучасток, никого не встречая по пути, но скоро догнал Язида Аль-Раджи, у которого сегодня были технические проблемы. А затем проблемы испытывал и сам Бернард – на его автомобиле лопнула покрышка на одной из скоростных секций спецучастка, но после замены колеса, буквально через десять километров экипаж вновь «поймал» прокол. Спаситель Владимира Васильева Арон Домжала на финише сообщил, что сегодня был не его день, так как он сам дважды застревал в песке, причем во второй раз, попав воронку, пилот умудрился повредить левую переднюю часть машины, но до финиша сумел добраться.

Сириль Депре, который в предыдущие дни собрал ворох технических проблем, таких как поломка привода, потеря масла и сломанный демпфер рулевой рейки. Сегодня француз наконец-то смог финишировать без каких-либо механических поломок.

Завтра экипажи будут штурмовать самый труднейший и продолжительный этап многодневного пустынного соревнования — дневная трасса протяженностью 520 километров, 286 из которых придутся на скоростной участок.

vrtsport