2019 Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge: sixth place overall

The second round of the FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies finished in Abu Dhabi. Stephan Peterhansel, one of the most titled drivers in the world of rally raids, won this five-day event. He drove a MINI John Cooper Works Rally, prepared in the X-Raid team, and his wife Andrea was his co-driver. According to Peterhansel, the debut was not easy, but they coped with it and now are thinking about participating in the DAKAR.
The second place in the race was taken by the crew of Sheikh Khalid Al-Qassimi, who is well familiar with the local sands; the Pole Aron Domzala rounded out the top three. Today he has fought with Al-Qassimi and Vasilyev, but the Russian crew has stopped due to a breakdown.
Despite the fact that Jakub Przygonski set the best time on the final day, it did not bring him closer to the desired finish in the points (yesterday’s problems with the gearbox had an impact) – the crew completed the rally at the 18th position overall.
The Russian duo of Vladimir Vasilyev and Konstantin Zhiltsov was able to reach the finish line, despite all the technical problems during the race. Guys have finished  today’s special stage at the 15th position due to a broken gear selection lever of their BMW X3 SS with a blue-white-red tricolor on the livery.
 
Vladimir Vasilyev, driver, “There were no problems, but at some point the gear lever came off. I had to stop, disassemble it and switch to the first gear. We were lucky enough to get to the intermediate service that way, where we fixed the problem. Of course, we lost time, but we are happy that we made it to the finish. The race is challenging – I like it. This year we’ve just been not very lucky – the engine has been warming up and there have been some minor problems. But motor racing is a technical sport, we will try to avoid such problems, we will return to the team – we will definitely analyze what happened and take it into account”.
The rally was really challenging, only 24 crew reached the finish line despite the fact that five days ago 34 cars in the car standings crossed the first day starting line. At the end of the final day almost every driver shared his impressions of a hard race and technical problems that arose during the rally raid.
By the 2019 Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge results Vladimir Vasilyev took the sixth place that allows him to rise one position in the interim classification of the FIA World Cup, since none of the previous round prize winners scored points in this race. The Qatari Nasser Saleh Al-Attiyah is still the series leader,  but Vladimir Vasilyev rises to the second position with 26 points, followed by Reinaldo Varela, who finished fifth in the United Arab Emirates.
The next round of the FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies will be held in Kazakhstan at the end of May, as the organizers of the planned event in Turkmenistan “crossed out” the race from the series calendar themselves. In the semi-deserts and deserts of Kazakhstan an interesting battle will take place among the drivers, who have made a bid to participate in the “big” World Cup series.

vrtsport

2019 Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge: Шестое место в генеральной классификации гонки

Пятидневное соревнование в статусе второго этапа Кубка мира по ралли-рейдам финишировало в Абу-Даби. Гонка завершилась победой одного из самых титулованных пилотов в мире ралли-рейдов – Стефана Петеранселя. Он управлял автомобилем MINI John Cooper Works Rally подготовленным в команде X-Raid, а штурманом выступала его супруга Андреа. По словам пилота, дебют был непростым, но они справились и теперь подумывают об участии в «ДАКАРе».

Второе место по итогам гонки занял экипаж под управлением пилота, хорошо знакомого с местными песками, шейха Халида Аль-Кассими, а замкнул тройку призеров соревнования поляк Арон Домжала, который сегодня весь день вел борьбу с опередившим его с Аль-Кассими и с Васильевым до того момента, пока экипаж россиян не остановился из-за поломки.

Несмотря на то, что в финальный день лучшее время установил Якуб Пшигоньски, это не приблизило его к желанному финишу в очковой зоне (сказались вчерашние проблемы с коробкой передач) — экипаж завершил ралли на 18 позиции в генеральной классификации.

Российский дуэт Владимира Васильева и Константина Жильцова, несмотря на все технические проблемы в ходе гонки, смог добраться до финиша. Сегодняшний спецучасток пришлось завершить на 15-й позиции из-за досадного недоразумения в виде сломанного рычага выбора передач на BMW X3 СС в ливрее с сине-бело-красным триколором на борту.

Владимир Васильев, пилот: «Ничего не предвещало проблем, но в какой-то момент оторвался рычаг коробки передач. Пришлось остановиться, разобрать и включить первую передачу. Повезло, что мы смогли так доехать до промежуточного сервиса, где нам устранили проблему. Конечно, мы потеряли время, но мы счастливы, что все же добрались до финиша. Гонка тяжелая, достойная — мне нравится. В этом году нам просто не очень везло — и мотор грелся, и были небольшие проблемы. Но автоспорт – это технический вид спорта, мы будем стараться избежать подобных проблем, вернемся в команду — обязательно проанализируем и учтем произошедшее».

Впрочем, ралли действительно было нелегким, до финиша добралось всего 24 экипажа, при том, что пять дней назад стартовую линию первого дня пересекли 34 автомобиля в зачете «Внедорожники». На финише заключительного дня почти каждый пилот делился впечатлениями о тяжелой гонке и технических проблемах, возникавших по ходу ралли-рейда.

По итогам 2019 Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge Владимир Васильев занял шестое место и это позволяет ему подняться на одну позицию вверх в промежуточной классификации Кубка мира, так как ни один из призеров предыдущего этапа не набрал зачетных очков в данной гонке. Лидером серии по-прежнему остается катарец Нассер Салех Аль-Аттия, а вот на вторую позицию с 26 очками поднимается Владимир Васильев, вслед за ним на третью строчку попадет Рейнальдо Варела, который на гонке в Объединенных Арабских Эмиратах занял пятое место.

Следующий этап Кубка мира по ралли-рейдам пройдет в Казахстане в конце мая, так как организаторы запланированного этапа в Туркменистане самостоятельно «вычеркнули» гонку из календаря серии. Именно в полупустынях и пустынях Казахстана развернется интересное сражение среди пилотов, кто сделал ставку на участие в серии «большого» Кубка мира.

vrtsport