2019 Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge: positional fight for results

The fourth of five racing days of the FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies second round – the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge – finished today in the United Arab Emirates, the southeastern part of the Persian Gulf.
The beginning of the longest rally raid leg was marked by the problems of yesterday’s stage winner – Jakub Przygonski did not start on Wednesday due to technical problems with the gearbox of his car. The crew reached the special stage start, but could not continue moving and returned to the bivouac to pass the car to the mechanics. The Pole was forced to skip the day, having received a substantial portion of penalty hours for it. Martin Prokop also retired for technical reasons.
Vladimir Vasiliev and Konstantin Zhiltsov gradually improve their results in the intermediate race classification – today the Russian crew have completed the stage in the top three, thus winning back several positions in the final classification and rising to fourth place.
The day was difficult and exhausting, the next circle stage was not successful for two crews: the Dutchman Bernhard ten Brinke, who fought for the second position overall yesterday, has had an accident today, where his co-driver Tom Colsoul suffered – the racers were taken to the hospital by helicopter, but injuries did not pose a risk to life. A similar story happened to the Omani Abdullah Al Zubair, and the helicopter was used for evacuation again.
Vladimir Vasilyev, driver, “At about the tenth kilometer of the route the tyre began to be lowered, and we stopped to pump it, having spent several minutes for it. We were caught up with Casey Kurrie in the Maverick and we couldn’t get away from him for about 20 kilometers; the American was driving well – with our pace. Later on the track we caught up with Aron Domzala and overtook him. And he drove behind us for about 200 kilometers. Approximately 40 kilometers before the finish we had another wheel beaded, when we caught up with Sheikh Khalid Al-Qassimi; we “handed over” Domzala to him”. 
The dune massive was not easy for the drivers and their cars, and there was a lot of work for the co-drivers. Both the local racers and the participants who came from afar were experiencing problems. Today Sheikh Khalid Al-Qassimi has actually driven a 2WD car – after he has allowed his buggy to “dig in” several times, one of the drives broke. The Czech Miroslav Zapletal had a hard time in the sands – the day was not good, the drive broke and then there were the problems with the electric system.
Tomorrow is the final day of the 2019 Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge rally raid – there are 214 competitive kilometers from 352 kilometers of the leg total distance; and after that the best drivers will receive their awards for the five-day competition at Yas Marina circuit.

vrtsport

2019 Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge: Позиционная борьба на результат

На берегах песчаных владений Объединенных Арабских Эмиратов в юго-восточной части Персидского залива финишировал четвертый из пяти гоночных дней второго этапа Кубка мира по ралли-рейдам Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge.

Начало самого протяженного этапа ралли-рейда ознаменовалось проблемами победителя вчерашнего этапа – Якуб Пшигоньски не вышел на старт в среду из-за технических проблем с коробкой передач на его автомобиле. Экипаж достиг старта спецучастка, но не смог продолжить движение и вернулся на бивуак, чтобы передать автомобиль в руки механиков. Поляк был вынужден пропустить сегодняшний день, получив за это солидную порцию штрафных часов. По техническим причинам сход оформил и Мартин Прокоп.

Владимир Васильев и Константин Жильцов постепенно улучшают свой результат в промежуточной классификации гонки — сегодня российский экипаж завершил этап в тройке лучших финишеров, таким образов отвоевав в итоговой классификации несколько позиций и поднявшись на четвертое место.

Непростой и утомительный день, очередной круговой этап не сложился для двух экипажей: голландец Бернард тен Бринке, еще вчера отстаивающий вторую позицию в «абсолюте» гонки сегодня попал в аварию, где пострадал его штурман Том Колсул – спортсменов доставили в госпиталь вертолетом, однако травмы не представляют риска для жизни. Аналогичная история случилась и у оманца Абдуллы Аль-Зубейра, и вновь для эвакуации в небо пришлось поднимать воздушный борт.

Владимир Васильев, пилот«Примерно на десятом километре трассы начало спускать колесо, и мы останавливались для его подкачки, потратив на это несколько минут. Нас догнал Кейси Керри на «Маверике» и мы километров 20 не могли оторваться от него. Пришлось «стесть на хвост» ним, но американец ехал неплохо – в нашем темпе.  Чуть позже на трассе мы догнали Арона Домжалу, обогнали его. И он на протяжении примерно километров 200 ехал за нами вслед. Ориентировочно километров за 40 до финиша у нас разбортировалось еще одно колесо, когда мы догнали шейха Халида Аль-Кассими, которому мы и «передали» Домжалу». 

Сегодняшний штурм дюнного массива был не прост для пилотов и их автомобилей, а также для штурманов нашлось много работы. Если уж местные гонщики испытывали проблемы то, что говорить об участниках, приехавших издалека. Шейх Халид Аль-Кассими сегодня управлял фактически моноприводным автомобилем – после того как пилот несколько раз позволил хорошенько «закопаться» своему багги, оборвался один из приводов. Чеху Мирославу Заплеталу пришлось нелегко в песках – как-то не складывался день, сломался привод и преследовали проблемы с электрикой.

Завтра заключительный день ралли-рейда 2019 Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge — 214 скоростных километров из 352 километров общей дистанции этапа, а после на автодроме «Яс-Марина» свои награды получат лучшие пилоты по итогам пятидневного соревнования.

Десятка лучших результатов на 4 этапе

Pos No. Name Avg. Time Diff. prev Diff. 1st
1 308  PETERHANSEL S.
PETERHANSEL A.
69.8 4:05:47.0
2 311  DOMZALA A.
MARTON M.
68.0 4:12:33.0 +6:46.0 +6:46.0
3 302  VASILYEV V.
ZHILTSOV K.
67.3 4:15:09.0 +2:36.0 +9:22.0
4 306  AL QASSIMI K.
PANSERI X.
66.1 4:19:46.0 +4:37.0 +13:59.0
5 319  VARELA R.
GUGELMIN G.
64.5 4:25:59.0 +6:13.0 +20:12.0
6 320  CURRIE C.
LICHTLEUCHTER L.
64.1 4:27:52.0 +1:53.0 +22:05.0
7 323  GARCES H.
LATRACH J.
63.6 4:30:02.0 +2:10.0 +24:15.0
8 326  AL JAFLA K.
RUDNITSKI A.
63.5 4:30:20.0 +18.0 +24:33.0
9 310  DESPRES C.
OLIVERAS D.
63.4 4:30:47.0 +27.0 +25:00.0
10 316  AL DOSSERY E.
OBAID A.
57.7 4:57:19.0 +26:32.0 +51:32.0

Десятка лучших результатов после 4-х этапов

Pos No. Name Pen. Time Diff. prev Diff. 1st
1 308  PETERHANSEL S.
PETERHANSEL A.
15:13:16.0
2 306  AL QASSIMI K.
PANSERI X.
15:31:51.0 +18:35.0 +18:35.0
3 311  DOMZALA A.
MARTON M.
15:59:28.0 +27:37.0 +46:12.0
4 302  VASILYEV V.
ZHILTSOV K.
1:00.0 16:09:15.0 +9:47.0 +55:59.0
5 319  VARELA R.
GUGELMIN G.
16:46:59.0 +37:44.0 +1:33:43.0
6 320  CURRIE C.
LICHTLEUCHTER L.
16:47:42.0 +43.0 +1:34:26.0
7 309  PROKOP M.
CHYTKA V.
17:16:45.0 +29:03.0 +2:03:29.0
8 310  DESPRES C.
OLIVERAS D.
1:00.0 19:25:04.0 +2:08:19.0 +4:11:48.0
9 304  TEN BRINKE B.
COLSOUL T.
20:11:52.0 +46:48.0 +4:58:36.0
10 307  PRZYGONSKI J.
GOTTSCHALK T.
20:13:57.0 +2:05.0 +5:00:41.0

vrtsport